In recent times, the popularity of CBD products has been remarkable, and all credit goes to the growing recognition of potential therapeutic and health benefits. Are you seeing CBD products everywhere, from licensed stores to gas stations and reputable brand stores? Therefore, you are tempted to buy and try CBD products for the first time to improve your well-being.
But are you aware of the CBD age restrictions? While CBD is widely available, you should understand the age restrictions associated with buying and consuming these cannabis products. Different states in the United States specify different age restrictions for CBD to ensure the responsible use of CBD products and protect minors.
This article discusses the legal age requirements for buying and consuming different types of CBD products.
You might wonder whether you need to be 18 to buy CBD products. So, the straightforward answer to this is- it depends.
The 2018 Farm Bill by the federal law in the United States doesn’t explicitly state the legal requirement for buying CBD products. However, the bill legalizes all industrial hemp-derived CBD that contains less than 0.3% tetrahydrocannabinol (THC).
So, since there is no age restriction for CBD at a federal level, people of any age can buy legalized, hemp-derived CBD. However, many states in the U.S. have different age requirements when it comes to buying CBD, with some states requiring an individual to be 18 and others specifying 21 as the legal age. Therefore, you should consult the state’s medical marijuana program and local laws to know the CBD age restrictions.
As discussed above, different states in the U.S. specify different age requirements for people to buy CBD products. You should consider the following vital points:
While federal regulations lay the foundation, states have the ultimate autonomy to set their own age restrictions for purchasing CBD products. In addition, also take into account that these age requirements can vary from state to state.
For instance, Alabama, Arizona, Maryland, and Nebraska don’t specify any CBD buying age. States like Alaska, Illinois, and Indiana require people to be 21 years old to buy CBD products. On the other hand, people in Hawaii, Connecticut, and Indiana must be 18 to purchase hemp derived CBD products.
Some states have aligned their CBD buying age restrictions with their legal drinking age, i.e., 21 years old. It’s because this alignment will help states maintain consistency in age restrictions for substances that might potentially risk an individual’s (minor’s) health. Such states include Alaska, Maine, Indiana, Tennessee, Utah, Rhode Island, and Illinois.
Another point you should know is that specific states might impose additional regulations on buying CBD products, including age limitations on buying specific CBD product types or allowed CBD concentrations.
Now that you know the age requirements for buying CBD products vary from state to state, you must check and comply with local laws and regulations. Reliance on federal guidelines will not provide you with an accurate understanding of CBD buying age restrictions in your specific jurisdiction.
Instead, to ensure compliance, you should consider consulting official state government websites. Alternatively, you can seek legal consultation for up-to-date and accurate information regarding age requirements to shop for hemp derived CBD products in your state or local area.
The age restrictions for buying products made from hemp plant-derived CBD can differ depending on the country, its states, and specific regulations. Now that CBD oil is derived from cannabis plants and hemp plants, which are used to formulate medical marijuana, the legal CBD buying age restrictions might be influenced by the legal status of cannabis and industrial hemp plants in the country.
Read further to know the age requirements to buy and use CBD oil, tinctures, and gummies:
CBD oil and tinctures are popular CBD products because they offer versatility and ease of use. Age restrictions for shopping these two CBD products follow the same guidelines as a state specifies for other CBD products. While federal regulations don’t establish any minimum age requirement, your state might have specified its own age restrictions to purchase CBD oil and tinctures.
You should also know that the concentration of CBD might vary in CBD oils and tinctures made from full-spectrum, broad-spectrum, or CBD isolate. Highly potent CBD products might have additional age restrictions or require you to have a medical prescription. To ensure compliance with age requirements, it’s recommended to research the age restrictions in your state or read the product label.
Many people prefer buying CBD gummies with THC and edibles for more convenience and tasty formulations. However, some states might specify more stringent age restrictions to buy and consume CBD gummies and edibles compared to other hemp-derived CBD products.
For instance, some states might allow 18 or 19-year-old people to buy CBD gummies and edibles. Other states align the CBD gummies buying age restriction with the legal drinking age and, thus, require purchasers to be at least 21 years old. Read the product label to confirm whether you are eligible to buy CBD gummies and edibles to ensure compliance with your state regulations.
Although CBD is generally considered safe, you should know that the cannabis compound’s effects on young people might vary compared to adults. Since there is limited research on how CBD can affect minors, the country sees the need to be cautious when it comes to purchasing and using CBD by minors.
Knowing the CBD product buying age restrictions in your state will help maintain compliance with the law and prevent legal implications. Moreover, it will allow you to responsibly consume CBD gummies with THC, oils, or tinctures while protecting your well-being. You can go through your state’s official website or read the specific CBD product label to know the local age requirements to buy CBD products.